CCNE vs NLN Accreditation

Specialties Educators

Published

I have an ADN with 8 years experience in L&D/OB, Psych and NICU. I'm currently working NICU in a hospital that is working toward magnet status and strongly encourages nurses to be at least BSN prepared. If I'll be returning to school it makes sense to me to go ahead and go for my MSN. I have a real interest in education and my most favorite aspect of nursing is the teaching component- whether it's been coaching a mom through labor, teaching patient groups on a psych unit, or teaching infant care basics to parents in NICU. I love learning patho- I think that is what keeps me interested in NICU (ALWAYS something new to learn). Also, the thought of 12 hour shifts, with sore feet and an aching back when I'm 2 years from retirement just doesn't appeal to me! So, in a nutshell, there's my reasoning for wanting to pursue an MSN as a nurse educator.

Now for my question- I'm researching schools that offer RN to MSN programs as well as the MSN Nurse Educator option. A few of the programs I'm interested in are CCNE accredited, but not NLN accredited. Is there a "gold standard" for accreditation? If you were in a position to hire a newly graduated nurse educator would you have a preference for NLN vs CCNE? From the view of a nurse educator, what are the differences, if any, between working for a CCNE vs NLN accredited program? Do you think my nursing education would differ much either way?

I really appreciate your input!

Thanks!

Last year, we had the CCNE accreditation and my Dean had stated that today, this is valued more in education than the NLN. They will go before the NLN for accreditation again next year. I am not sure I am convinced of this as NLN has always been stressed to me as not really an option, but necessary. Personally, I would want to have gone to a college with both accreditations.

Hope this helps some,

Barbara

Specializes in Gerontological, cardiac, med-surg, peds.