The Divide between Psych Nurses and Behavioral Health Professionals?

Specialties Psychiatric

Published

Hello Everyone. I have been working in psych nursing for a few months now. I have noticed something and wanted to see if anyone else had noticed it as well. It seems there is a divide between psychiatric nursing and "non medical" mental health professionals. I believe that the specific medical nature of our profession as psych nurses seems to be what other professionals view as our job and that behavioral health is not our field. I have heard and seen this in the workplace and it is upsetting that others are defining what nurses do without understanding we are trained to care for our clients in every aspect. I could go on but please comment if you have experienced this or have some insight into what I am observing as it very well may be just my misunderstanding.Thank you all.

allnurses Guide

hppygr8ful, ASN, RN, EMT-I

4 Articles; 5,049 Posts

Specializes in Psych, Addictions, SOL (Student of Life).
Hello Everyone. I have been working in psych nursing for a few months now. I have noticed something and wanted to see if anyone else had noticed it as well. It seems there is a divide between psychiatric nursing and "non medical" mental health professionals. I believe that the specific medical nature of our profession as psych nurses seems to be what other professionals view as our job and that behavioral health is not our field. I have heard and seen this in the workplace and it is upsetting that others are defining what nurses do without understanding we are trained to care for our clients in every aspect. I could go on but please comment if you have experienced this or have some insight into what I am observing as it very well may be just my misunderstanding.Thank you all.

I'm not sure what mean by a non-medical mental health professional. Please clarify so I can formulate an answer.

Hppy

elkpark

14,633 Posts