Tired of managing children

Specialties Management

Published

I've been in my current management role less than a year. However I moved up in the ranks so I know most of the staff very well. Now that I am a manager I see a different side to so many people. It makes me sad. Some I knew were trouble from the start, some I knew were going demand change (for the better) which I support 100%, and some I knew were just coasting along (again not a biggie). It's the ones that I thought were about being part of a team and getting things done and making things better - and instead they are just all about me, me, me. I will come out and work alongside you. I will have your back against anyone. Have someone irate yelling at you, send them my way. I am here to help make your job better and to support you in any way I can. I am not here to be your best friend or to make your job simple so you can do the minimum necessary and allow you to pass the buck to everyone else. I'm not here to listen to you whine about the same thing 100x if you have no solutions to offer.

Last week I had someone walk out of my office in tears because I said she was going to have to move where she sits.. Seriously. ( I work in an outpatient setting). She prefers up to 4 people who are here full time to be disrupted and moving around so she can have her seat for 5 hours a week. I feel like I'm managing 5 year olds some days. It's exhausting. :banghead:

I make it a point to thank my hardworking staff as often as I can. I try to show them my appreciation by allowing them flexibility with scheduling and trying to make sure they get off the time they request, even if it means I am covering their role part of the time.

Ok.. Thanks for the vent. I feel better now. I do really like my job most days.. today however is not one of those days.

Specializes in Ambulatory Care-Family Medicine.