New Grad Terrified of Choosing Wrong Job

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I need your help! I am a nursing student graduating in December 2018. I applied to February nurse residencies and didn't get my dream hospital or field. I have two options left that are both nowhere near what I want to do. I want a peds job more than anything but the two options I have left are adults and both in units I have no interest in.

So my question is, should I suck it up and take one of them and eventually switch to what I actually want to do later in life? Or do I wait for the July round ofresidencies. If I wait until the July round I would apply to more hospitals. But more importantly, my dream hospital is taking way more nurse residencies in the July cohort and units that weren't an option to apply to for the February residency will be taking residents as well.

So my question is, do I risk it and not take one of the residency positions at the places I have no interest in and apply to the residencies again or do I take one of the other jobs just to have one?

Sincerely,

Terrified

Dear Terrified,

Congrats on graduating in December!! And congrats on having 2 job offers!

There isn't an absolute "right" answer to your question because it's more of a risk tolerance question, and there is some risk for you if you wait. It's why people say "A bird in the hand is worth 2 in the bush", if you've ever heard that expression.

If you take one of the jobs starting in February, you will gain valuable skills and experience. These are core skills that will transfer to any speciality. Even though you say now that you have no interest in adults, you will be learning and growing every day. You will not be bored.