horrible immunization compliance rate

Specialties School

Published

my immunization reporting is due for 6th graders on Nov 15th (not sure if states differ on this). My compliance rate is about 65%.

It's my first year as a school nurse at a very small school. both the feeder school's nurse and the nurse who used to hold my position quit at the end of last year, so there was apparently no messaging on vax schedules to parents whose kids were leaving the 5th grade school and entering 6th grade at my school. I was hired just as school started (and I've never been a school RN before), so it took me a couple weeks to get my bearings, and first referrals went out the first week in September. Second referral went out October, followed up with at least one phone call. Most parents have received 2 email referrals and 2 phone calls regarding the missing documentation. I'm about to make another round of phone calls tomorrow...

At the beginning of my outreach efforts only 11% of students had their documentation in, so obviously I've made some headway, but it's crunch time and I'm not quite sure what to do with this large group of parents who are simply not responding.

The point is, I'm really nervous to report these low numbers because I'm worried I may trigger an investigation from the State and they will think "What the heck is going on over at that school!?" Next year, I will put some things in place to prevent this from happening again, but at this point... what should I do? has something like this happened to anyone else?