My first experience taking prescribed/needed pain medications in recovery.

The prejudice that exists against recovering addicts in the medical setting. I am a nurse, I am a recovering addict and I had real pain that was not treated. Nurses Recovery Article

My first experience taking prescribed/needed pain medications in recovery.

In the last eleven years I have had several experiences with lack of treatment for legitimate pain associated with documented, confirmed diagnosis of disease or condition. The first six years of this time frame I was in a contract agreement with Addictionologists who prescribed Subutex or Methadone, I was obligated to disclose this. While I choose not to include this as a part of my true 'recovery' period, I was honest.

My first experience was with cancer. I had been diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma at age 38 and I was taking Subutex. A bone marrow biopsy was ordered and obtained without analgesia. Perhaps no one receives analgesia, I really don't know. I only know that it was very painful. I screamed for the entire procedure, I believe it lasted about 20-30 minutes.

The second experience was a stirrup fracture, or Lisfranc fracture of the left foot. I tripped over the tongue of a trailer and bent my foot in half. The three middle metatarsals were broken clean in half, I was in a boot for six months.

The third experience was a kidney stone. After disclosing my maintenance opiate status, I was at least given Toradol after four hours of writhing in agony. This was enough for me to relax and pass the stone. And I was grateful.