struggling new grad: may not make it past orientation

Nurses New Nurse

Published

So i am a current new grad on orientation on week 5. I am currently taking 3 pts & I know this may sound insignificant but I can't but notice that I am behind, performance wise, the other oreintees. We are supposed to be able to take care of pts based on the number weeks we are on orientation so I should be able to take care of 4-5 pts. But I do not think I am progressing as well as I should.

I have been able to get more feedback from my preceptor. She has been giving me advice and talking to me about my time management... which is something I struggle with but has been slowly improving on. & she always says I'm doing good. But sometimes I'm wondering if she's just telling me that to preserve my confidence. I honestly believe I would do better if she would tell me what all I need to fix.

The reason why I think I'm not a good fit for my floor is because I don't think I act as independently as I should. I have had various situations where my pts would appear to

be in distress & I just feel like I go into a panick. None of the situations I was in was a reason for panic, mind you. & I do have a gut feeling that these situations are not as bad as they seem but instead of trying to effectively resolve it I always get my preceptor and it turns out it something that could've been easily resolved with just a call to the doctor. Just simple things. If I can't effectively resolve simple problems how am I going to operate on my own and with more complicated problems? I feel like this is a sign of lack of critical thinking skills and therefore I should not be on a high acuity med surge/ Tele floor.