My identity crisis

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Orthopedics.

What's up everyone, I'm a new graduate nurse. After having spent several weeks in a series of classes and simulations, I'm now out on the floor with preceptors. In a couple more weeks I will have to choose between three different units (they are all med-surg but more heavy on the surgery part). At the end of the rotation we will all rank the unit we liked best as well as shift preference, and then they will try to place us..

When I left nursing school, I had a plan. There is a certain unit that I was very upfront about wanting to be a part of. However almost every other new grad in my group wants this same unit. I wanted the position because I have some connections, I've done clinicals there, & there is a step down area that I could use as a springboard to transition to ICU. I was dead set on going to be a CRNA. (My GPA isn't that great so far tho.)

Now it hasn't been that long, but I think I'm falling in love with the Ortho unit. It terrifies me because it would change my grad school plans. I don't know if I could transition to critical care from there, or even if I'd want to. Choosing this unit might piss some people off because it's the opposite of what I've been saying I wanted, although I doubt I'm important enough for that many people to really care. As well, I might be judged for my preference by the other new grads, but who cares.

And I don't know how I can be expected to choose a unit after only being there for two weeks. I know I have to go through the rest of orientation as well.