How to pick yourself up after bad day

Specialties Med-Surg

Published

So I am a newer nurse.....and started in med/surg. I'm still in med/surg and honestly I was really thinking that it was for me. I enjoy the variety, I enjoy the people and being busy. However....last week I had some really rough days.....and a 6 patient load on day shift pretty consistently, sometimes with no tech, it made me think maybe I need to look at my skills and look at my career goals long term. I worked over the weekend and it went really well .... but then yesterday happened. I had quite possibly the worst work day I've ever experienced. Now I know I can't evaluate my career on one day....BUT.....it was pretty awful. I didn't get a break, I didn't eat all day, I didn't get water until about 3pm, I didn't get done charting until after 9pm. Today I was so sick from running on adrenaline only yesterday....I was literally physically ill until about 3pm. Yesterday was just, well it made me think I might be wrong or just plain nuts for wanting to put myself in that type of situation. How do you guys leave a bad day behind and move forward...or when do you say too many bad days maybe it isn't for me?

Specializes in LTC, Orthopedics.

The way I handle a rough day is to realize that there is only so much that I can do. When I clock out from work, my problems stay at work and I do not bring that home with me. Yes, you will have more rough days to come, but with time and experience you'll learn how to better problem solve certain situations. Only you know how much stress you can handle, and if the job starts to become too stressful than look elsewhere. In the meantime try finding a hobby that you like to help you relax.

Specializes in Hospice.

Looking back, I think I had more "bad days" when I was newer nurse. Until I figured out a good routine, how to prioritize, and time management.