Help! I Want to be a Writer

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

• Career Columnist / Author
    Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I have been a nurse for 3 years and have worked in acute care, assisted living and as a school nurse. However, I am finding that I am wanting to flex my writing and creative muscles and want to slowly transition into medical/healthcare writing. How does one make such a transition? Where do I even begin to look for jobs that does not immediately require years of experience in medical writing?

Dear Wanting to Write,

This is completely doable because there are a lot of opportunities for healthcare writers.

Professional Organizations

Almost all professional organizations have opportunities for writers. Peruse the sites of professional organizations.

Get involved with your specialty nursing organization. Here's some examples of opportunities I've seen.

ANCC calls for subject matter experts from time to time on their site. They may need item (test questions) writers, or content matter writers in your area of expertise.

Last month I saw a call for item writers on the National Council of State Boards of Nursing website. When your submit your name, they keep it in a database of potential writers for when your expertise is needed.

The Academy of MedSurg Nurses (AMSN) has a newsletter and sometimes posts for contributing writers.

Allnurses

Allnurses is looking for writers! It couldn't be easier to apply here.

Read How I Became a Professional Writer which is my story, and How to Get Started as a Writer by Elizabeth Hanes, an accomplished free lance writer.

Clients

Almost all CE sites, recruiting sites, and for-profit university sites have blogs written by nurses. I just wrote an article on Active Shooter for NursingCE.com and in the past wrote for bsntomsn.org, to give you an example of what they look for and publish.