Collaborative Inquiry - Masters of Education (as a Registered Nurse)

Collaborative Inquiry is a component of practice in nursing school and as a registered professional yet we may not be aware of the defined process. This article aims to define and provide an example of what that process looks like as a nursing initiative and seeks to gain feedback to generate a greater understanding of examples and knowledge related to Collaborative Inquiry in the medical field. Nurses Announcements Archive

Updated:   Published

Hi nurses and non-nurses, I am beginning the journey into a Master degree in Education. I am a Registered Nurse and Professor of nursing, so studying the area of Education (non-nursing) is a big learning curve for me. In an assignment for this degree, I have been asked to "Define a set of core ideas related to Collaborative Inquiry and based on course content to be shared as deemed appropriate with the identified Professional Community" so here goes nothing! Hopefully you guys can help me out with some feedback in the comments section J

What is Collaborative Inquiry?

For me, this is something I would like to co-define - speaking to the difference of Collaborative Inquiry and collaboration. As we can probably all agree, it is crucial to the role of nursing to collaborate on a daily basis. Generally, this means working with other team members toward a common goal. This isn't so different from Collaborative Inquiry, however the process is a little more defined and the outcomes measurable. In Collaborative Inquiry these are some of the key concepts:

• Collaborative inquiry is a process that allows the teacher to reflect and evaluate current teaching and outcomes with the goal of refining and improving the teaching after the process has been completed, and perhaps again and again