Med-Surg

Nursing Students Student Assist

Published

Hi all,

I am currently a Junior BSN student. I am looking for some advice about med-surg which I will be starting in the Fall. I have heard many horrible experiences from other students who have had a specific professor that I will have in the Fall, and I am very nervous about starting the class. I have heard of many students failing out of the program after taking this professor's med-surg course. What can I do to ensure my success in med-surg. Also, does anyone have any tips on how to control anxiety before starting a tough class?

Personally I would suggest taking what others have said about this particular professor with a grain of salt. I had one clinical instructor who was a nightmare...I mean nightmare with a capital "N". About half of the students in our clinical group dropped partway through, citing the instructor as the reason.

But ya know what? The other half of us passed the clinical and the course. Every one of us are RNs today. You keep up your grind and do what you have to do. Sometimes the people who cluck the loudest are the ones who aren't putting in the work (not always, but many times this seems to be the case).

You just do your thing, don't worry about what other people say about the instructor, because that instructor is churning out nurses too, one of them may as well be you ;)

My BSN program had a very hard teacher teaching us our 2 Medsurge classes. Yes, they were hard as heck, but we learned so much, and when we took our ATI exam, half of our class got Level 3's. I also had some friends fail the class unfortunately. But the way I see it, it was hard for a good reason and prepared us for real world scenarios to be great nurses. Anything worth doing is gonna be hard.

tips:

1. read before class - eg. read the powerpoint before class the night before (spend 2-3 hours reading) and when you go over it in class, it will be fresh and things will stick easier