Deciding between RN vs. MSW

Nursing Students Pre-Nursing

Published

Hey everybody. :) I came to this site and wanted to post my situation with hopefully some useful insight! I appreciate any feedback and advice in advance. So I am stuck in a dilemma where I have to choose between earning my MSW or continuing with hopes of becoming an RN. A little background about myself, I am in my mid-20s and I already have a bachelors degree in psychology. I am feeling overwhelmed with school already and want to make the right decision with my choice because I am ready to be done and start working. I have many years of healthcare experience (as a unit secretary and other admin jobs) and in my most recent position I was a case manager in the social services field. I really enjoy working with people and helping others so I feel that both MSW and RN would give me the opportunity to work in a field that is satisfying to me. However, I have heard mixed reviews about MSW. Some MSWs I know are completely content in their field and make decent money. Others are "burnt" out and looking to switch to a more lucrative career. To me, my work is much more than the money but there is a pretty significant difference between MSW and RN from research. Also, MSW job availability worries me because there are way more RN jobs than MSW jobs. On the pro's side, I really really really enjoy working the psychosocial aspect of helping individuals more than the medical aspect. I am leaning more towards RN because the schooling is less expensive than getting my MSW (MSW program is minimum 20k around me), and I know with an rn degree you can eventually transition into case management roles, which I am more interested in than bedside nursing. I have to make my decision within the next week because I was accepted into the MSW program and have a seat waiting on me. I should also add that science has always been my weak spot. I have had to retake a few of my anatomy and micro courses in order to be competitive