Starting new position in ICU

Specialties Critical

Published

Specializes in ICU.

Hi all,

I am currently an oncology nurse who has just accepted a new position in an 8-bed unit ICU near home. I have been a nurse for 18 months and I wonder is it considered normal to feel nervous about starting in the ICU. I have toured the unit multiple times and the turn over rate is very low at this job.

I was wondering if I should start studying in prep for this position or just wait until actual orientation starts?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.

I am an experienced RN (over 40 years of nursing, 36 years in ICU) and I cannot imagine NOT being nervous when starting a new job! You don't know the people, the physicians, the patient population or the policies and protocols of your new unit. It's a daunting prospect.

That said, I'd urge you to enjoy some fun in the sun now, before you start the new job. I have never started a new job without having to study at home. Homework is a fact of life when you're new. So have fun now so you can buckle down and study once your new employers have given you something to study.

Specializes in Medical ICU.