Should New Grad Play it Safe or Take a Risk?

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I am a new graduate nurse and recently accepted a position in my hometown on a general pediatrics floor. I got a call today that I was accepted into a phenomenal nurse residency program in my dream specialty that I originally was not selected for. My dilemma is currently my license. I am an out of state nurse for the residency program and need to apply for licensure by endorsement. The state I am applying to is known for long processing times and I am terrified that my license will not be ready by the strict deadline. This is my dream job but I don't want to say no to my current job and then run into problems with my license. Do I play it safe or take the risk?

Sincerely,

Anxious and Eager

P.S. Reading your book really helped me in applying for jobs and residency programs! I'm very fortunate to have two job offers and owe it all to reading your book!

Dear Anxious and Eager,

Congrats!! I'm so glad my book was able to help you land two great job offers.

But now you have a dilemma- which job to take. Some would say "A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush". Others would say "No, question, go for your dream! ". There is no absolute right or wrong, just what's best for you.

I could tell you what I would do, but that doesn't necessarily help you. Your risk tolerance and your values (security, adventure) are highly personal and individual. You are the one who is going to live with the consequences, and no one can take that responsibility for you.

But here's a few thoughts.

It's your dream job, and it's a residency program. You don't mention the hometown position offering a residency, just a position. Residency programs are tailored to the learning needs of a newly licensed nurse and provide the support you need to transition to practice successfully.