Very Bad Background

Nurses Criminal

Published

Hey guys,

I am a prenursing student in California and I'm about to apply to a reputable local nursing program and I'm very excited. I've had really good grades and things have been going so smooth. I am also in recovery from alcohol and drug addiction. As of today, I have 4 and 16 days clean and sober.

Consequently, I have had serveral drug convictions (3), 2 DUI's, a battery charge, and a couple of petty theft convictions during my 22 years of abusing drugs. However, I have lots of evidence towards my rehabilitation.

I have a certificate of complition from a rehab,

competed probation, had letters from members of my recovery community ( I have letters from retired judges and therapists), I work in the recovery field currently, where I dispense schedule class 2 drugs without issue, and letters from employers, drug counselors and academic counselors, as well. I can provide edivence of meetings I attend and letters from sponsors. I am currently on track to have my record expunged in a years and a half after paying off my fines. I will be, God willing, 7 years recovered by the time I go before the nursing board. I have put in so much work to be here.

My nursing school says for me to just keep going, but I am fearful that the nursing board my see my record history and dismiss me altogether. I understand their job is to protect the public. But am NOT the person I used to be. I also hear California nurses is among the toughest scrutinized in terms of their history. Does anyone have any experience they can share with me? I am I wasting my time and money investing into something that is futile ? Please help. Thanks!

Only the California BON can answer your question, and you would be asking for that answer in advance... so it could change.

You are not accepted to nursing school, yet. Anybody can take the pre-reqs. Of course your school says to keep going. They want your money.