Advice to a New Grad Nurse ?

U.S.A. Arizona

Published

Hello everyone,

I wanted to get some words of advice from my fellow nurses on here, I recently got hired into a New Grad position (I am so excited and thankful) and start orientation in less than a month. I wanted to to get a head start on prepping for what I may need prior to starting the program..

Firstly, do any of you have any nurse bags (totes or backpack) that you would recommend.. I briefly looked on Amazon and saw so many with good review but, wanted to see which ones have worked for you (and ofcourse I am looking for something that can be easily wiped down after shift)

For those who started off on nights how did you transition into it, I have never worked nights before so any helpful tips would be awesome?

I will be working in the Med Surg unit and in the mean time plan to brush up on topics/meds but, do any of you have any helpful books or pocket guides that you used for your first year of nursing?

Any words of positive advice or recommendations you can give me would greatly appreciated! :happy:

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.
Hello everyone,

I wanted to get some words of advice from my fellow nurses on here, I recently got hired into a New Grad position (I am so excited and thankful) and start orientation in less than a month. I wanted to to get a head start on prepping for what I may need prior to starting the program..

Firstly, do any of you have any nurse bags (totes or backpack) that you would recommend.. I briefly looked on Amazon and saw so many with good review but, wanted to see which ones have worked for you (and ofcourse I am looking for something that can be easily wiped down after shift)

For those who started off on nights how did you transition into it, I have never worked nights before so any helpful tips would be awesome?