Advice for new grad RN entering oncology med surg floor?

Specialties Oncology

Published

Hi there, I am a new grad RN and have been assigned to work on the med surg oncology floor. I am a part of a new grad RN residency program that will take place for 14 weeks. If any experienced nurses could give me advice on working in this unique area, it would be much appreciated. Even though I have experience teching on this same unit, I would love to hear from others on key topics I should know about or be familiar with. I was interested in taking a palliative care course but my facility does not offer this (although they offer classes on caring for dying patients/family).

My main concerns here are communication when it comes to intense situations. I am afraid that I will say something inappropriate in front of the patient or family that would not facilitate comfort. The other thing is medication. Along with nausea and mouth ulcer meds, I'm well aware that that many hospice and cancer patients here will be prescribed a lot of pain medication. For instance, I am worried about pros and cons to giving them heavy doses of pain meds if the situation arises. Ethical dilemmas.

Anyway, if anyone can shed some light on some advice, I would love to hear it. Even though I have teched and did my preceptorship on this same unit, I am a bit nervous and excited to be entering my career as an oncology nurse. I love caring for this patient population despite the challenges emotionally and physically. I am also interested in joining any formal organization/associations. Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance!

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.