Multistate license

Nurses Recovery

Published

I have been a nurse for 15 years. I moved to my current state 10 years ago. I applied for my RN license a few months after getting settled in. Approximately 30 days After receiving my license here I got a letter in the mail stating that my license in my previous state needed to be given up or made inactive because I was not allowed to have two current licenses at one time. Both states are compact states. My license in the previous state is expired now and has been for some years. My question is should I not have let my license in the previous state expire? My current state is active.

Specializes in Care Coordination, MDS, med-surg, Peds.

With the multi state license, I think you have to name the state you live in as your "home"state. So that state will be the one your compact license is in.

When I moved from one state to another, both compact states, I had to list the state where my address was as my primary state.

With the multi state license, I think you have to name the state you live in as your "home"state. So that state will be the one your compact license is in.

When I moved from one state to another, both compact states, I had to list the state where my address was as my primary state.

So is your license in the other state active, inactive, or expired?

Specializes in Varied.

I don't think it would be difficult to transfer your license back to your home state.

I ran into this problem when the whole ENLC kicked in because I was working between Texas and New Mexico during the time that New Mexico wasn't going to join new compact.

You can only have one active license between compact states just like the letter said. It's not a threat, it's just how they do things. Put your old state as inactive so you're not paying for it anymore.

For more information, go to this link:

Original NLC | NCSBN

Look at the PDF that's called "Moving to Other States" for details on "Compact to Compact". Hope that's helpful.