Recent DWI arrest

Nurses Criminal

Published

I'm a new registered nurse with a DWI arrest this past weekend. At 36 years old, I have never had anything like this happen before, and I have absolutely no criminal history. I truly made a stupid mistake, and I am very aware of it. Thankfully no one was hurt or worse. I have been a practicing LVN for 3 years and graduated in May and sat for my NCLEX-RN late May. My attorney would like to try to get a Pretrial Diversion, in order that I might complete the program and have my record expunged, and hopefully do so before my license is set to be renewed in April of 2020. I know that I really still need to report the expunged offense with my application for renewal, but does anyone have any experience with anything like this, and if so, can you provide some (hopefully positive) insight? I'm terrified that I might have blown my chances at doing what I love, and supporting my family in the process. I would also like to know how this might affect my chances at landing a state job in the future (both immediate, and further down the road). I had accepted a position Friday with Texas Dept. of Health and Human Services, and had a set start date of July 1. I'm already employed as an RN at this time with a local hospital, but I was hoping to move to a position I might have better benefits and leave with. I'm already painfully aware that I made a ridiculously bad mistake. Please don't kick me while I'm down.

Specializes in Ambulatory Care-Family Medicine.

I've never been in your position and I'm sorry you are going through this. I just renewed my license last week and it specifically asked if I had any DWI or drug related charges since my last renewal including any expunged offenses. So I don't think even if you get it expunged that you can get out of informing the BON. Hopefully someone who has been in this situation can give you some better insight on what to do. (Hugs)

adjrn

4 Posts