First RN job- LTC or Home Health?

Nurses New Nurse

Published

Hi all. I am a new grad (ADN) searching for my first RN job. I live in an area that is oversatured and very competitive, especially for new grads. I got absolutely nowhere applying to hospitals and was told multiple times I need to either have my BSN or a year of experience to be hired. I am working on my BSN but won't complete it for another year. I started applying at places outside hospitals and have received two offers- one from a LTC facility and one from a home health/hospice agency. I am unsure of what direction I should go; I would prefer to stay away from LTC, but have heard home health is not advisable for a new grad. My only healthcare experience prior to nursing school is a year of CNA experience in an ALF. Which would be better for a new grad, both in terms of being able to practice safely and future career prospects?

Thanks!

blueskynurse9

20 Posts

If your desire is to work in the hospital, I would advise you to take the job in LTC. You will learn excellent time management skills, nursing assessment skills and the dynamics of working in a facility with other members of the health care team. Working in home health as your first nursing job straight out of school may be limiting; however you could do that on a per diem basis to get some experience there too. Best of luck to you.

Sour Lemon

5,016 Posts

I vote for LTC, too.

caliotter3

38,333 Posts