Balancing Nursing and having kids

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Hi all,

I am thinking of having kids within the next few years but sometimes I can't imagine taking care of people all day at work, coming home emotionally and physically exhausted and then taking care of kids. I love kids and I love my job but it seems really tough. For any nurses who raised kids while working, how did you do it? Did you cut back your hours, leave acute care, have a super supportive partner, or pretty much just suck it up? I have a coworker who was a single mom of 3 and worked full time plus over time. Her kids are grown up now and she is still so positive and energetic. What is the secret of people like her?? #lifegoals

brownbook

3,413 Posts

My youngest, I only had two kids, was 5 when I graduated from nursing school.

I found nursing to be a great career for mothers and families. My partner was supportive.

Working 11 pm to 7 am eight days a pay period, every other weekend, I felt physically and emotionally fine. Was always home when kids got out of school, never missed a school event, went on school field trips.

Working in a 24/7 industry gives a parent so much flexibility. A co-worker worked every Fri., Sat., Sun., 12 hour shifts, so he could be home all week with his kids. (Not sure what his wife did, if she even worked?)

I cannot imagine working 8 - 5 Mon. to Fri. and dealing with kids, schools, doctor appointments, Little league practice, girl scout meetings, etc.

Trauma Columnist

traumaRUs, MSN, APRN

88 Articles; 21,249 Posts

Specializes in Nephrology, Cardiology, ER, ICU.

Our sons were 5 and 10 when I graduated from school. I worked 3 12's night shift and my husband worked days. Worked fine - we make a good team and we shared our home duties. However, when he got deployed it wasn't so much fun - miserable year is about I can say. As they grew it got better as they were more independent.

Editorial Team / Moderator

Lunah, MSN, RN

14 Articles; 13,766 Posts