Need some job advice

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I'm trying to decide between 2 temporary job positions. One is a 3/4 time on cardiac surveillance unit April next year and the other is on an ICU unit full time until the end of September. Some background info on me: graduated last year, been a nurse for 10 months, and I have no acute care experience. I just graduated with my advance practice certificate to work in critical care. I have a permanent full time so I'm covered job wise no matter what I choose, but I hate my current position and am trying to get out of it. I've never been on CSU but I didn't like CCU. I'm not really into hearts. I enjoy medical issues. One of the benefits to taking the CSU position is it eases me into acute care with more stable and less demanding clients. The ICU said I could pickup casual there even if I don't take the temp.

I worry that if I take the short ICU position I'm gong to get stuck back at my permanent position. If I choose the CSU position I'm stuck in it until it's done even if something better pops up. I was originally supposed to go into a temporary full time on MICU but the person resigned their position so the temp is no longer needed. I was really looking forward to it and now I'm struggling with what I want to do.

What kind of ward are you in now? What is your background (I'm kind of curious how you got into the critical care program with no acute experience). If you *just* started in your new position, I honestly advise to stay put. It takes at lest 6 months to feel comfortable in a critical care setting. Probably more without any acute care experience. I would also ask yourself what is it about your job that you dislike. Is it the coworkers? The work itself? The acuity? Will going to a new position fix what you dislike about your current position? What will be the expectations or the new position for your ability to take care of sick patients? Will you still be supported as a a new critical care grad?