Help, nurse in distress!

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I have been a nurse for 2 years now. I spent 1.5 years working at a rural med surg hospital. 3 months ago I transfered to the city hospital in the critical care PCU. The thought is to transition from PCU to CCU. I have many concerns about the unit, and have addressed them to my supervisor and nothing has changed or been said. I am very unhappy with where I am at, feel unsafe, and feel my patients are unsafe. To transfer within the system I am in, I need to get a written release from my supervisor, so I am allowed to apply for other jobs. What is a good way to bring this up to him? And what if he says NO? Could use some good words of advice on how to go about this.

So, let me get this straight. You've been there for 3 months and have informed your direct supervisor of all the things that are wrong with the unit. Did he ask you your opinion or did you just offer it up? If you offered it up I can see this going one of two ways. He'll sign your transfer paper just to get rid of you because I'm going out on a limb here to say I doubt he was very appreciative of your unsolicited advice. Or he will refuse and enjoy riding you hard until eventually getting you to quit or outright firing you. As the new kid on the block I'm fairly certain you have dug yourself quite a hole while simultaneously shooting yourself in both feet. You might want to start looking elsewhere for employment. I'm honestly not trying to be mean but I literally cringed when I read your post. There's a way to do things and going in with guns blazing just isn't it. Especially in the nursing world. And new to the unit. Frankly I think your best bet is to try to fly under the radar for awhile.