Help with Fluid and Electrolytes

Students Student Assist

Published

Hi -

I'm hoping someone can explain this because I am tying myself in knots trying to figure it out. So, I'm studying for our finals next week, and going over fluids and electrolytes. I'm trying to figure out how to recognize if FVE is relative or actual, and how would you know anyway?

Here's my thinking - please correct me!!!

FVE is basically over-hydration. I assume caused by drinking too much, correct? I'm not understanding how having too much Na+ intake can lead to hypertonic FVE....surely too much sodium would cause dehydration, would pull water out of the ICF into the ECF...? How is that FVE - or does that mean that there is now too much fluid in the EC space compared to the IC space? In other words, to be in homeostasis, the balance of the fluid in the intra and extra cellular spaces must remain within a certain balance, and now one has shifted so that is considered FVE?

I guess I understand WHERE the fluid is not right for the body, but why is that considered FVE...?? Especially when we throw in the opposite, hypotonic FVE which would cause too much fluid in the IC space??

Please help!!

Triddin

380 Posts

Fluid volume excess is too much fluid in the circulatory system. Hypertonic is too much sodium/electrolytes which pull h2o from the cells to the blood stream. You can also have isotonic. There are several reasons a person can have a fluid volume excess. Over hydration is one reason. You definitely don't want to give too many boluses. I have also seen a case or two of water intoxication. With water intoxication, it isn't the fluid volume excess that is the problem as much as the dilution of the sodium in the blood stream. Depending on the solution and how many boluses you give, you could have a hypertonic, hyper volume fluid volume excess.