NURSING INFORMATICS

Nursing Students Western Governors

Updated:   Published

I am a BSN prepared nurse with an interest in nursing informatics. I am not sure whether I should do nursing informatics or healthcare informatics. I am not sure what the difference is and if there are any limitations with either. I would one day like to be able to be a builder as an nurse nformaticist.

In addition, my other dilema is choosing a school. I have looked at schools from western governers university () all the way to vanderbuilt. Any suggestions on schools that they had good experiences with and were not very expensive. I am not sure about wguis it accredited and will I get a job if I graduated from there. Please share tour thoughts. Thanks in advance for all responses.

Specializes in Outpatient/Clinic, ClinDoc.

WGU is fully accredited, inexpensive, and has degrees in both HIM and MSN/Informatics, although I do not believe they have a healthcare "informatics" degree (just health info management).

Do you want to work with medical records/coding/compliance/etc, or work as an informatics nurse and analyze workflows to make changes to the EMR/processes? Both are needed and both can be rewarding. I have the MSN in informatics from but I work in HIM, so it can go either way. :)

That said, many MSN/Informatics grads I know find it difficult to get a job with JUST a degree.

If your main goal is to work in nursing informatics, start looking for entry positions - analyst, superuser, etc. The MSN degree along with those positions could be helpful.

Thanks for your reply. I would love to do analyzing workflows as opposed to coding and compliance. I have been a bit concerned about doing the program at because they do not have a hands on clinical component where you get to work with a nurse informaticist during the capstone. I was hoping to get good hands on experience especially seeing that I do not have a job in that field as yet. How did you feel about not having that component.