New nurse, newly pregnant

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Hey guys!

So I've asked a lot of questions from you seasoned nurses before but now I feel like I'm in an entirely new ballpark.

I am 5 months into my first job on a medical/surgical floor. The plan was to do a year here to get experience and then try to check out different options. But now I just found out I'm due in November and I completely need to reevaluate things.

My questions for you guys are:

1) What kind of jobs are good for new moms? I really really don't want to work full time but I'm not sure how to swing it. Currently I work three 12 hour night shifts. I feel like with this schedule I would not get quality time with my baby.

2) This is probably a super long shot but how likely is it to find RN work from home jobs? I'm thinking I already have one strike against me because I'm a newer nurse...

Thanks everyone :)

Hey guys!

So I've asked a lot of questions from you seasoned nurses before but now I feel like I'm in an entirely new ballpark.

I am 5 months into my first job on a medical/surgical floor. The plan was to do a year here to get experience and then try to check out different options. But now I just found out I'm due in November and I completely need to reevaluate things.

My questions for you guys are:

1) What kind of jobs are good for new moms? I really really don't want to work full time but I'm not sure how to swing it. Currently I work three 12 hour night shifts. I feel like with this schedule I would not get quality time with my baby.

2) This is probably a super long shot but how likely is it to find RN work from home jobs? I'm thinking I already have one strike against me because I'm a newer nurse...

Thanks everyone :)

"New moms" is a VERY broad category. I work occasionally, per diem, and my husband works full time and provides insurance coverage. I have no idea what your personal circumstances are ...or what your career goals are.