Camp Nurse?

Specialties School

Published

I graduated nursing school last year and was able to work on a med surg floor for a couple of months. Needless to say it didn't work out but now i have been offered a position for a camp nurse. I worry that my relative new nursing experience has me feeling a little overwhelmed where i will be responsible for 200 campers with one other nurse.

Is this good learning experience? i do love working with people more than anything

kidzcare

3,393 Posts

I worked as a camp nurse last summer and plan to for the next few years (while my kids are of age to attend).

I would not recommend it until you have more experience. There will be times when you are completely on your own and you need to be able to make quick decisions regarding emergency and urgent care. There won't be someone else there to bounce ideas off of. Those quick assessment skills can only come with experience.

There was a new nurse who worked at the camp with me last summer. It was 3 experienced nurses and her and we were all on edge when we knew she was on her own at the health center. We all felt responsible for all the campers and it was hard to know that she did not have the assessment skills to work on her own.

NutmeggeRN, BSN

2 Articles; 4,620 Posts

Specializes in kids.

I would be concerned as well.

How familiar are you with anaphylaxis, signs and symptoms? Do you know how to use an epi-pen?

Are you familiar with using a peak flow meter to assess the status of an asthmatic, use of a nebulizer and MDI and spacers?

What is your experience with orthopedic issues, knowing when to send an injury or monitor it?

How far is EMS? Is there an MD available?

Lots of stuff to consider, especially if you will be alone.

Specializes in OR, peds, PALS, ICU, camp, school.