Any advice on how to study for NURSING SCHOOL???

Nursing Students General Students

Published

Hello, I am currently in my third year of nursing school. I am taking med-surg I and pediatrics. I have midterms coming up shortly and I have not been doing well in class. I find that I am trying so hard to memorize symptoms and definitions that I end up forgetting after each test anyways. I just feel so overwhelmed.... I am the first person in my family to go to college so it's hard to get advice, and I don't know any nurses. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to study for exams? Thank you

Signed,

Discouraged Nursing Student

Flash cards. Make flowcharts of illnesses and include S/S, diagnostics, labs. Treatments and special considerations. Peds really focus on rashes, respiratory and close monitoring. Med Surg is a lot and can be overwhelming. Any codes in your text books? Lot of them will have practice tests and quizzes. This is what I always did. Good luck

Flash cards. Make flowcharts of illnesses and include S/S, diagnostics, labs. Treatments and special considerations. Peds really focus on rashes, respiratory and close monitoring. Med Surg is a lot and can be overwhelming. Any codes in your text books? Lot of them will have practice tests and quizzes. This is what I always did. Good luck

Thank you for your suggestions! I never thought to make a flow sheet. I feel that will help me a lot. Yes, my med-surg textbook does have a code. I will definitely be sure to see if practice tests are available. Thank you for replying!

Specializes in Case manager, float pool, and more.

I also read my text and class notes into a recorder that I listened to in the car, out on walks, while washing dishes. I read my flash card while on the toilet, during commercials, etc. Of course, I also watched YouTube r/t whatever I was studying at the time.

I did well making a form of a concept map for all my disease processes.