"I am a nurse!"

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Ever have a patient or family member who, the first thing out of their mouth is "I am a nurse!". Then they proceed to brag about their illustrious career, showing off their knowledge, grandstanding and expecting the red carpet treatment. They fiddle around with monitors, turn off pumps and saline lock IVs, crossing boundaries right and left.

Then they announce that they love it here and plan on applying! You go to the BON site, verify their status, then email your supervisor ASAP!

klone, MSN, RN

14,790 Posts

Specializes in OB-Gyn/Primary Care/Ambulatory Leadership.

No, I've never had that happen

Davey Do

10,476 Posts

Specializes in Psych (25 years), Medical (15 years).
Ever have a patient or family member who, the first thing out of their mouth is "I am a nurse! announce that they love it here and plan on applying! You go to the BON site, verify their status, then email your supervisor ASAP!

I have put the kibosh on an agency nurse from Hell who attempted to apply for a full time position after her contract was up at WRMC (Wrongway Regional Medical Center).

WRMC will hire just about anyone with a pulse and an RN behind their name and I like to think that my letter of condemnation had something to do with her not being hired.

Do you have such a situation that you'd like to share with us Emergent?

cleback

1,381 Posts

Nope. Haven't had that happen. Generally I find the medical family members wanting to be hands on with care, in a good way. Guess I've been lucky.

Emergent, RN

4,243 Posts

Specializes in ER.
I have put the kibosh on an agency nurse from Hell who attempted to apply for a full time position after her contract was up at WRMC (Wrongway Regional Medical Center).

WRMC will hire just about anyone with a pulse and an RN behind their name and I like to think that my letter of condemnation had something to do with her not being hired.