elementary to middle or high school

Specialties School

Published

I am being moved in the fall from my beloved elementary school to either middle school or high school. I do have some say which it will be. Which, in your minds, would be a better choice? Pros and cons would be very helpful for me. I have no experience working with these age groups, only the elementary bunch. Neither school has a nurse now, so I'd be starting from the beginning....Any info would be greatly appreciated!

mc3

I really like middle school - it is a good balance of young (chronologically and maturity-wise) students and students who are starting to turn into little adults. I cannot imagine working at a high school, but I know my colleagues love it!

I have only worked at the middle school level, so I cannot offer a pros/cons list. Phones are a problem either way though!

Specializes in Pediatrics Retired.

I'm in elementary...I think I'd pick high school if I couldn't get a job on a crab fishing boat in the Bering sea or as a semen extractor on a turkey farm. Middle school...too big to be little...too little to be be big. Ugh

The problem is, I love my littles! :(

Specializes in Pediatrics Retired.
The problem is, I love my littles! :(

Hear ya.

Elementary now. High School would be my next choice. I have no desire to work on a turkey farm, OldDude!!!

Specializes in ICU/community health/school nursing.