First time CVICU traveler

Specialties CCU

Published

Specializes in ICU.

I'm an experienced Medical/Surgical ICU nurse who recently took my first travel assignment, and I was placed in a CVICU. I have my CCRN and feel like I have a pretty decent level of confidence/experience with medical ICU patients who have CV co-morbidities, but it is my first time working in a dedicated CV unit. Does anyone have any resources they would recommend I purchase/obtain that might help me along? Or any tips/clinical pearls? The unit sounds like it's like 60-70% CCU patients and then the remaining % are cardiac surgical patients. Thanks!

Welcome to the CVICU! Hopefully it will be an awesome experience for you! I know we really appreciate our travelers. Depending on the acuity of the unit and hospital you'll see a lot of swans (PA catheters), lots of CVVH, and many different mechanical circulatory support devices (IABP, Impella, Ecmo, Centrimag, LVAD's). Read up on hemodynamics so that the CCU patients make sense. One big difference that I see between the CCU patients and cardiac surgical patients is their response to fluids. The heart failure CCU pts are often aggressively diuresed and fluid boluses are given in small amounts and very slowly. Whereas the cardiac surgical patients are often fluid resuscitated with liters of crystalloid and colloid. Another good tip is crank up the heat and grab a bair hugger/bundle up with blankets to keep your fresh cardiac surgical patients warm and toasty...they come out freezing cold from the OR and a cold patient will bleed more.