Need Advice - feeling unhappy with my job

Nurses Career Support

Published

I have been working as a nurse since October 2016. I work on an observation unit in a busy and highly rated hospital. Patients on my floor come in for observation after surgery and procedures and usually leave within 24 hours or less. My coworkers are fantastic and it seems that most of them love working there! Many of them were hired as new grads and have stayed and been there for years.

Back in nursing school, I didn't like med-surg and told myself I wouldn't work in MS if I could avoid it. After graduating, I was initially looking for an L&D job, but this job fell into my lap and at the time it was a very good option (It IS a good job). Upon hiring me, my boss let me know she expected me (and all of the other new grads) to be staying on the floor for 3-5 years. But I never signed any sort of contract.

So I worked there from Oct '16 through August '17 when I got into a mountain bike accident. I broke my clavicle, had a seizure on impact, concussion, tore up my knee, etc, and I ended up needing surgery. I was out of work on medical leave from August '17 - late January '18.

Almost 3 weeks ago I started back at work. It was a tough move because during my medical leave I had moved home with family and was living in my hometown (which I love). I'm now back in the city and away from my family, which is hard. Since being back, I'm having a really hard time feeling settled. I know now more than ever that this is not the unit I want to be on. My current lease runs until the end of June. I'm thinking if I stay till then, that would give me a little over a year of actual experience being an RN. My fear is that my manager won't give me a good reference because I'm not staying there 3-5 years.