Having to teach yourself?

Nursing Students General Students

Published

So, I'm curious if other programs are like this. The program I'm in it seems like we have to teach ourselves the majority of the material. They will put stuff on the exams they never went over in class. It's not in the PowerPoints or class notes. Never gets mentioned. In Fundamentals, we were never shown how to work dosage calculations, so I spent an entire day teaching myself by watching YouTube videos. I was fine in first semester doing this because the material I didn't find difficult. Now that I'm in second semester, I feel it's going to be a bigger problem. I failed my first nursing school exam today, and I'm upset but determined to do better next time.

Just seeing if this is happening a lot out there or if I picked a doozy of a program. ;) It gets frustrating to say the least.

Specializes in LTC.

The school that I went to was like yours too. Instructors say that there isn't enough time to go over everything in class

Wow, that sucks. I only have one teacher this semester who basically make us self teach any she will only provide supplmental resources such as videos and role playing teachings. The rest of my teachers will only put things on the test that have been taught in class.

On the exam today that most of the class failed, we had 4 I&O calculations. We have never been over how to calculate IO, never been told we needed to know if for this exam (I figured they would teach it when we needed to know it) or I would have watched videos. We were told a TURP drainage calculation would be on there, but not the others. When we asked the teacher, he said y'all didn't learn that in Fundamentals? It's frustratung. That's a 6 to 8 point swing on a test.