Crackles

Specialties Med-Surg

Published

In a pt who does not have CHF, is it possible for lungs to slowly fill with fluid if they have IV fluids running and have bibasilar crackles? Or is pulmonary edema more sudden? With bibasilar crackles that don't clear with a cough, is it possible that walking around will help clear the lungs?

I ask because I have had a few pts with new-onset crackles lately and am sometimes hesitant to call MD to slow/stop fluids because my charge nurse has told me that you need to consider what they have fluids for (like if it's for the kidneys and they need the fluids)...though with ABCs perhaps the lungs would come first. She also said that it's important to re-assess to see if crackles have increased or there are any VS changes. But what I learned in school is ANY change, report to MD? I know nursing isn't always that black and white, but maybe it is for now because I am a new nurse (5 mos. in). And then another time an RT told me that crackles are not to be worried about unless pt shows other signs like SOB, O2 sat decreases, respiratory distress. I have been stressed about this lately and just need some seasoned nurses' thoughts.

Specializes in Med-Tele; ED; ICU.