Bullying :Living well is the best revenge

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Incivility, or frank bullying. Quite a common problem in this line of work.

I have my PhD in the subject, and even the tee-shirt. Fortunately it largely resolved, after I got my NP. Still, there are some rather traumatic memories.

Two decades ago ago, as an RN, after several months of abuse, I was kicked out of the health dept. What a blessing in disguise.

There was one fellow RN there, that was particularly memorable for her snide condescension, and consistent efforts to undermine me anyway she could. Making every work day miserable.

After I got canned, the union called, and wanted to know why no one could keep a job there. I was the sixth person in 2 years who had been let go.

A study should be done there about toxic work environments. Alas, the worst offenders have retired. So I thought.

Due to the flu epidemic, the health department recently had a TV spot on vaccinations. And there she was, 20 years older, and in all her glory.

I did a quick Internet check on her salary. I live in one of those "transparent" states with regards to government salaries.

It must be hard to live on 40k.

Of course, money isn't everything, but 175k gives you a lot more options in life.

So I have heard.

Specializes in Critical Care.