Published

• by 5h3ryL
    Specializes in Medsurg/Telemetry.

Hello all!

I'm a new endo nurse (

Much much appreciated!

brownbook

3,413 Posts

Every (all two of them, ha ha) facility I have done moderate sedation in required me to take a moderate sedation study course to be "certified".

I hate looking up state guidelines and policies, but I believe it might be a legal requirement per BRN or Endoscopy Nursing, or AORN. You might ask your boss or look for yourself. Or ask the education department....someone in this large teaching hospital should know.

I could give you some advice, but I think you had better clarify if you need to be "certified" before you give moderate sedation?????!!!!! It isn't at all hard, can be done in one day.

I hope at least you have ACLS? I think that is really mandated!

5h3ryL

24 Posts

Specializes in Medsurg/Telemetry.

Thank you for your reply! I do have ACLS and moderate sedation cert isn't required. However, I do have a competency test to take before I can sedate on my own. I guess since I haven't done it, I'm anxious - and being new in a not so awesome team adds stress. Anyway, I will look more into it before I start my intra-op rotation. I just don't feel confident.

brownbook

3,413 Posts

OK, the competency test is all I was referring to. I made it sound fancier that it is.

As long as you study up for the test and know the material you should be fine.