DUI and licensure in Texas?

  1. I know it is a case-by-case thing with the board, but I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me. I got a DUI in 1999. I was also arrested for theft that year. Both were misdemeanors. I was 20 years old at the time. I am now 26 and a single mother to a 3 year old girl. I want to know if I even have a shot at getting to take boards in texas. The whole FBI check has me freaked out and I haven't even sent in my money for it, since I don't want to waste my money if I can't take boards. I just need some reassurance. I'm a responsible, law-abiding citizen now. Do you think I can still get licensure? Thanks for the help.
    •  
  2. Visit tamuqt1 profile page

    About tamuqt1

    Joined: Feb '05; Posts: 7

    6 Comments

  3. by   mattdixon
    More than likely you'll have a shot. Are you even in nursing school at the moment?

    You'll find out for sure if you are ok or not once you report these incidences upon applying for nursing school... that information is sent to the board along with your paperwork and probably a written/typed explanation from you.

    If they let you in the Nursing program they'll probably set a probationary period for you once do get in.

    that's how it works in Louisiana, hopefully that'll help a lil bit.
  4. by   tamuqt1
    I've already graduated from nursing school. All they said when we got into the program was that if we got arrested for anything, we would have to report it to the board when we applied, which we didn't do until our last year. I talked to a lawyer and she said it shouldn't be a problem since it wasn't a felony and it happened so long ago, but I'm still afraid that I did all that work for nothing.

    Quote from mattdixon
    More than likely you'll have a shot. Are you even in nursing school at the moment?

    You'll find out for sure if you are ok or not once you report these incidences upon applying for nursing school... that information is sent to the board along with your paperwork and probably a written/typed explanation from you.

    If they let you in the Nursing program they'll probably set a probationary period for you once do get in.

    that's how it works in Louisiana, hopefully that'll help a lil bit.
  5. by   sleepless in norman
    First, is your attorney a Healthcare Law Attorney? The BON can restrict your license due to the nature of your offenses, they still can make you join TPAP due to the alcohol related offense, and with the other being theft, well they don't look to acceptable to that offense, although they can't turn you into the OIG which will place you on the healthcare exclusionary list at this point,which is for Felons, it may be possible in the future, laws change everyday. The thing to do is to have those offenses expunged from your record, do this with aid of a Criminal Defense Attorney before you apply for licensure if possible, so you don't have to declare them, but if you do it after, then you still don't have to declare them to employers. Expunge them before you begin your career,it would be very easy to do, thats my advice. Good Luck.
  6. by   mattdixon
    Quote from tamuqt1
    I've already graduated from nursing school. All they said when we got into the program was that if we got arrested for anything, we would have to report it to the board when we applied, which we didn't do until our last year. I talked to a lawyer and she said it shouldn't be a problem since it wasn't a felony and it happened so long ago, but I'm still afraid that I did all that work for nothing.

    Hrm, I guess Texas or maybe your school does it differently, but I think the lawyers right. The main thing boards are concerned with is not getting substance abusers in hospitals that will be a potential risk to patients or steal the meds.

    Good luck though, I think you'll be fine.
  7. by   bcjams
    You must disclose and explain the incidents. If you dont you will be denied the ability to test. You will go thru the declaratory orders process
    It will delay your test date by at least 3 months to 1 year and will cost about 175 dollars.
    so call the board and talk to their attorney and tell the truth and file the declatory orders if necesary. Everyone makes mistakes with the biggest one being trying to hide it from the txbne.
    Last edit by bcjams on Mar 12, '05
  8. by   bcjams
    btw
    I got my authorization to test letter by email from pearson today...yea.

close