Two PRN jobs or one full time

Nurses Career Support

Published

A few months ago, I took a prn job at clinic but apart of hospital. My one prn job was cut recently out of the blue and the hours were horribly unstable. I am new to the prn world..is this the norm for prn? I took the position because my manager promised me full time hours and had higher pay rate. Anyways, due to this I was looking into doing two prns or a full time position. I'm deciding better to take two prn jobs closer to home or one full time that will be an hour and 15 minute commute? I live in a small town and full time jobs are hard to come by or much competition for the few that do open. Two prn vs full time. I'm a new single parent so no benefits from anyone.

I make a living off two PRNs.

If I get fewer shifts than I want, I do projects around the house, and catch up on whatever needs to be done.

If I need to make more money, I take every shift I can, even if I don't like the hours, or even if it means too many shifts in a row.

The real question is, can you deal with variability?

If you don't make as much as you hoped, does somebody show up at your house and take stuff you like?

If your life revolves around a steady income, PRN is not the way to go.

BTW- full time hours on PRN is probably illegal, but nobody enforces it. The laws changed when the insurance laws changed. Legally speaking, having somebody work full time and not offering benefits is a no no. I worry that somebody will remeber this and start cutting my hours. I often work full time at my primary PRN.

Specializes in Pedi.