Graduated 8 years ago

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hello all

Would appreciate some feedback and suggestions on what to do here. I graduated from an accredited ADN program in 2010. My state passed a law not long after that basically stating that if you've been out of nursing school 2 years you couldn't take your NCLEX.

Seeing this early on, I registered with my neighbor state to take the test who still to this day doesn't have a time limit on taking the NCLEX after nursing school.

Well, I didn't take the NCLEX right away and wanted to wait a summer and work while I studied. I'm a house painter. I had some health issues that required two surgeries 'ABD laparoscopy tumor removal and then later repair of ABD incisional hernia with mesh' and that went on for about 3 years. I put NCLEX on the back burner and got very busy working and just paying bills.

Next, my spouse had a nervous breakdown and she had to stop working. About 6 years later and now currently we have a correct diagnosis and correct medications. Still, I've been busy at life just working, paying bills, being head of household, her caretaker, etc.

Well here it is all this time later and I'm able to devote my focus to nursing once again. I've made monthly payments to the NRSNG academy and now with it payed off I have this material to study for life. It's not taking me long to pick back up on the material but I'm gonna need a little while to cover it all and feel competent for NCLEX.

I can still take the exam with my neighbor state but in reality what would be my best approach? Sure, I can study up and pass my exam but what about getting a job being out this long, advancing to a BSN after all the years my pre-requisites have on them 'I've seen some programs want pre-requisites again if it's been 10 years,' etc?