Gap in Employment

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Hello Nurse Beth,

I am in my mid-30s and a second career nurse. I worked on the administrative side of healthcare while attending nursing school for my BSN night and weekends for 3 years. I've always wanted to be a nurse and would love to go for an acute care CRNP program eventually. Once I graduated and landed my first job, I loved it and being on the floor in a busy acute care facility. My goal was and deep in my heart is to work in an ER.

Unfortunately 2 years into becoming an RN I developed some health issues that required a short leave. I thought everything was taken care of with me during my short leave and returned to the floor feeling ok - not wonderful but well enough to work. I was definitely not ok and after a few short weeks back, had to take another leave and unfortunately maxed out my leave at 6 months. I unfortunately was not in a position to return when my leave was exhausted and I had to leave my position.

I haven't been able to return since and it has been a year and a half since I have physically taken care of a patient and per employment records, I left my last position a year ago. I've been dealing with multiple diagnoses including a connective tissue disease so when I return to work I will have some restrictions including no night shifts and no rotating shifts (2 months on days then 2 months on nights, repeat). I may have shift length restrictions and so forth but I am not sure of any other restrictions at this time however my doctors are supportive of my desire to return to work.