New nurse and still learning

Nurses New Nurse

Published

So...I guess I am just looking for some uplifting words. I am a new nurse, less than 1 year of experience. I have been iff of orientation for 1 month now. I had a situation with my nurse manager and I felt it could have been handled better. I had put an order in from a doctor and with the help if a more seasobed nurse. The nurse manager did not like the way I had put the order in. It had the right PT, right med, right route, dosage, etc. What she did not like was the way the pain level was put in. The issue I am having is, the way it was handled by my NM. Instead of pulling me aside to talk to me and teach me about the order. I was called out infront of peers and doctors as I am walking to clock out, "Did you get this order from Dr ****? "You can't do this" And then basically told me I am practicing out of my scope and that would not be tolerated. I then told the NM I had help putting the order in, which I am regretting now because I do not want to cause enemies, but I didn't want my NM to think I was not seeking help when needed. It is hard enough being new, but then to be spoken down to doesn't help. I.know I will make mistakes, I am new. Teach me, do not belittle me infront of others.

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.