Newer unemployed nurse wanting NICU job

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Hi Nurse Beth,

I graduated nursing school in December 2015. I took my boards in February and received my Nursing license in March. It has been 9 months since finishing nursing school and I still haven't found a position. I have had two interviews and I accepted a position in a pediatric ER and it turned out to be not a good fit for me. I worked for about 3 months. The interview process was quick and I didn't have a time to make a decision. How long do you think is a normal time frame for a new graduate nurse to find their first position that is a good fit for them?

Should I include that RN work experience in my resume or no since I was still on orientation. The area of nursing I have always wanted to work is in the NICU setting of nursing even before nursing school. Should I keep trying to get a NICU RN job since I know that once you work in another area of nursing it's hard to be chosen for a position in the NICU?

Dear Wants NICU,

Since you are unemployed, have little experience, and the clock is ticking, it's more important right now to land a job than to land a job in NICU. Put your efforts towards job searching and hone your interview skills.

Once you are hired and gain some experience, you can start planning how to transfer to NICU (provided you still want to).

Some applicants leave jobs of short tenure off of their resume because they feel it may hinder their ability to get hired. The problem is that falsifying anything on a resume is grounds for dismissal if you are found out. Would you be comfortable telling a recruiter you have never worked as an RN when in fact you have.