new grad RN with 2 job offers, what would you do??

Nurses New Nurse

Published

Hi everyone!

I am new to this site but have always found very useful opinions and tips by reading the threads on here so I am hoping for some helpful feed back for a new RN.

I graduated nursing school this past June and have had my license for a little over a month now and have been working at Hoag hospital Newport Beach for almost a year as a PCA (essentially a CNA) during 12 hr night shifts part time and the floor I work on has told me a few times that there are no positions open at this time but as soon as one opens up it will be offered to me (since I had already interviewed for an RN position prior to graduating nursing school just to have the interview process out of the way). My director has told me she really wants to move me up to an RN on our floor and she hopes I will wait it out and be patient for a position to open up (talk about some nurses leaving in the next few weeks). I recently interviewed at another hospital (to keep my options open) and they offered me a position as an RN at their facility.

Hoag hospital floor for hire is Gynecology/Urology unit with some med/surg overflow

Hospital #2 floor for hire is telemetry

my goal is to eventually be in critical care such as cardiac ICU

I will note the pros and cons in my situation and would appreciate all opinions! :)

Hoag Pros: I have been an employee there for almost a year, I have a good relationship with the PCAs, RNs, charge nurses, and director on my floor, it is a beautiful hospital, it is a well known hospital and known for being a very good hospital (that is in terms of patient opinion and ratings not employee opinion; there are good and bad things about being an employee here in my experience)