Physician assistant versus Nurse practitioner

Nurses Career Support

Published

Does anybody know what is the difference between a physician assistant and a nurse practitioner.

They seem to have the same responsibilities and same range of salary.

Specializes in Geriatrics/Oncology/Psych/College Health.

Hi there,

Scope of practice varies according to individual state law. To know the exact difference in the state you wished to ultimately practice in, you could review that state's specific laws.

Generally speaking, both are considered "mid-level" providers. There are a couple of states that are hinky about the prescriptive authority for each designation, which is where the tricky part comes in. Additionally, the degree of supervision from an MD or DO varies (again from state to state.)

You might try http://www.aanp.org or http://www.aapa.org for additional info.

Specializes in Education, FP, LNC, Forensics, ED, OB.

I am a Nurse Practioner in Women's Health. One of the main differences is that I am on my own license and a PA is under an MD on the MD's license. Your abilties and pay ranges VARY greatly from state to state. If I had to do it over again, (Texas anyway), I would go PA. They have a far stronger lobby in the legislature, and overall make better money.

I am a Nurse Practioner in Women's Health. One of the main differences is that I am on my own license and a PA is under an MD on the MD's license. Your abilties and pay ranges VARY greatly from state to state. If I had to do it over again, (Texas anyway), I would go PA. They have a far stronger lobby in the legislature, and overall make better money.

What is the advantage of being on your own license versus under MD's license ?

What's your comment regarding the university of texas medical branch for PA ? Is it reputable ? I am an international student.

Specializes in Neuro, Critical Care.