Lapel watches???

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Hi! I'm a pre-nursing student, new to the site, and I have a kinda trivial question. Do nurses wear lapel watches? My grandmother in England wants to buy me one for my birthday, but I'm not even sure nurses wear them here in USA. Anyone? Thanks!

I've never seen anyone wear them here. They might have been more popular before wristwatches became available.

To me, they'd be hard to look at. You can't really look at your pt. while you're taking a pulse/checking resps., either.

Maybe you can talk into getting you a nice wristwatch that would be suitable for nursing. :)

I think the old fashion ones are cool looking...but are not very piratical.

I've never seen one worn in the US recently (only in older pictures), and I've never even seen one for sale here, but they used to be one of the "badges of honor" of being an RN.

If she really wants to get you one, it might be interesting to have for historical purposes (in case you ever want to dress up as a nurse from the '40s), and there really isn't any reason why you couldn't use it.

They actually are v. practical, and designed to be read "hands-free" -- the faces are upside down (12 at the bottom and 6 at the top), so that they're oriented correctly for you to be able to read them by just glancing down, and, no watchband interference or concerns when you wash your hands.

I've never seen one worn in the US recently (only in older pictures), and I've never even seen one for sale here, but they used to be one of the "badges of honor" of being an RN.

If she really wants to get you one, it might be interesting to have for historical purposes (in case you ever want to dress up as a nurse from the '40s), and there really isn't any reason why you couldn't use it.