Any info on PBDS?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

One of the head honchos at a local hospital (a BIG university-affiliated teaching hospital) is coming to our small community college to discuss with all of us nursing instructors the "merits" of PBDS. This exec also wants to "brainstorm"with us the possible reasons why many of our new RN graduates are performing so "poorly" on the PBDS (like I'm loosing sleep over this :(). This lady wants to offer our school "pointers" on improving the scores--suggestions on how we might "improve" our teaching methods or "conform" our curriculum to the PBDS mold. I am open to all suggestions of improvement (being a novice ADN instructor myself); however, something about this whole PBDS movement irks me to the core. I need to know--from some of you knowledgeable RN's out there--your perspective on PBDS. Is it a valuable way to measure competency or just another burden and hoop for the nurses to jump through in order to make the hospital "look good" on paper? Is it truly research based, reliable and valid??? Does anyone know the sources of Del Bueno's research??? (Need some ammo for this lady's visit):devil:

boggle, ASN, RN

393 Posts

Specializes in Med-Surg.

What does PBDS stand for please?

DelGR

124 Posts

That term is new to me. What does it mean?

Editorial Team / Admin

dianah, ASN

8 Articles; 4,167 Posts

Specializes in RETIRED Cath Lab/Cardiology/Radiology.

PM Super Moderator NurseKarenRN, she usually has an abundance of info and websites that help.

lever5

154 Posts

Vicky,