#1 Nursing Resource: 1 Million unique visitors per month

Log in   Sign up   Why join?   | Layout: Color: gold style blue style rose style
Nursing Community for Nurses
Home Forums Articles Specialty Students Region Career Resources

Advanced Search

This website is a hoax



Currently Online
Members: 369
Guests: 2,177
2,546

Newsletter

Interested in the hottest topics of the week? Subscribe to the Nurse-zine Newsletter.

Enter email address:

Job Spotlight
Private Duty Nurse
Burnsville, Minnesota
Forum Spotlight
Distance Learning for Nursing

Nursing Degrees

Nursing Articles

Today We Lay to Rest...
Oscar The Octopus
The Male DR Nurse
Nursing Student Days
Tommy
New Supervisory Why?
What's That Smell?
Restorative Dining
Baby Who?
Posterior View
Submit An Article

Nursing Jobs

Job Seeker: Employer:

Scrubs & Gear

How-To allnurses

allnurses videos

Welcome to allnurses: A Nursing Community for Nurses

The largest most active online nursing community. Join 320,675 nurses from around the world to learn, communicate, and network. For full allnurses.com access, register today - it's free! Problems during registration? Please don't hesitate to contact support.

Would you like to comment?
Join or Login if already a member.
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old May 24, 2008, 08:16 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2006
This website is a hoax

http://www.medicaladoptions.com/

I saw a link to this on another website, and while it would have been obvious to me that the whole thing's fake, it probably wouldn't be to a layperson and it certainly wasn't to the person who posted the link there.

If we had a transplant forum, that's where I would have placed this thread but this was the next best option.

Some people have too much free time!

Top
  #2  
Old May 24, 2008, 08:23 PM
elizabells's Avatar
ECMO junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: This website is a hoax

Wow. WOW. WOW.

Does kind of bring up the issue of parents who have a child to provide stem cells/bone marrow/kidneys for a sick older sibling. I think about that quite frequently, for some reason.

Top
  #3  
Old May 24, 2008, 08:58 PM
Spidey's mom's Avatar
SAHM wannabe
Join Date: Dec 2002
Re: This website is a hoax

Oh my dear God . . .that is horrible and probably NOT that farfetched.



Top
  #4  
Old May 24, 2008, 09:15 PM
MeghanRN's Avatar
MeghanRN (Female)
Peds RN
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: This website is a hoax

Wow..

and people who are that desperate think its a great idea...

Top
  #5  
Old May 24, 2008, 09:29 PM
aloevera (Female)
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Re: This website is a hoax

OMG......that is funny, especially the bit from David in Palm Beach "and my daughter is going to community college here in town" Believe me there is no community college in Palm Beach...I grew up across the bridge in West Palm Beach !!
Really is a sad and sick site in my opinion....

Top
  #6  
Old May 24, 2008, 10:47 PM
janfrn's Avatar
SuperModerator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Re: This website is a hoax

Very twisted in my opinion. There are so many holes in the story that it wouldn't hold up to any real scrutiny. I strongly doubt that there is a transplant surgeon in the industrialized world who would even consider taking organs from a living child for any reason. Except bone marrow, which is a very different proposition. (It's also the most expensive of their categories, with "adoption costs" running into the middle 6 figures, when it's the easiest to retrieve and trnaplant, and the risk to the donor is fairly low!) Children are not considered competent to consent to any medical treatment, never mind organ donation, so the whole thing is ridiculous. The world is full of sickos who prey on the desperate and uninformed. Intestine transplant to an adult from a child? Yeah right!

Top
  #7  
Old May 24, 2008, 11:42 PM
unitek1963 (Male)
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2007
Re: This website is a hoax

I agree, this is terribly sad. There is, however, a CC in Palm Beach.

Best regards,

Michael

Originally Posted by aloevera View Post
OMG......that is funny, especially the bit from David in Palm Beach "and my daughter is going to community college here in town" Believe me there is no community college in Palm Beach...I grew up across the bridge in West Palm Beach !!
Really is a sad and sick site in my opinion....

Top
  #8  
Old May 25, 2008, 12:25 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2006
Re: This website is a hoax

I wonder if the webmasters received any serious inquiries. It wouldn't surprise me if they did.

Top
  #9  
Old May 25, 2008, 01:25 AM
elizabells's Avatar
ECMO junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: This website is a hoax

Originally Posted by rph3664 View Post
I wonder if the webmasters received any serious inquiries. It wouldn't surprise me if they did.
Me neither. If you didn't read as far as the profiles of the theoretical children, and were really ignorant and desperate... I guess. The profiles make it incredibly obvious that it's a hoax, though.

Top
  #10  
Old May 25, 2008, 02:00 AM
HardwrknRN (Female)
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Re: This website is a hoax

What the????

Top
Sponsored Links
 
Would you like to comment?
Join or Login if already a member.



Currently Active Users Viewing: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



New To Site?
Need Help?

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.

This website is a hoax

Copyright © 1996-2008, allnurses.com. All rights reserved.  allnurses.com, Inc. Advertising Information