RNFA prereqs

Specialties Operating Room

Published

Specializes in OR.

Hi:

I am new to the OR and have about 5 months left of a 9 month program. I only have an ADN. Do I need a BSN to get my RNFA? Is there anyone who has gone through this and is an RNFA? Is it worth going for it? Do you have to live in one of the states that has the RNFA class program or can you do the program online and do your clinicals where you live?

Thanks in advance for any information.

i am not an rnfa. i can give you some info. though. to become an rnfa you must have a bsn and certified nurse of the operating room (cnor) and complete an accredited program (there are online programs). to sit for the cnor you must have 2 years of surgical experience. you can find more information and links at www.aorn.org.

i hope this helps.

I might add that the online programs require you to arrange a preceptor agreement between you, the surgeon, the hospital and school for required case hours in the first assist role.

You do not have to have a BSN to take the program. I took the program a few years ago but changed jobs before I finished my hours. You can get "certified" as a RNFA which does require a BSN, but you can practice & bill without one. Medicare & Blue Cross/Blue Shield do not reimburse unless you are "certified". There are 13 states that recognize RNFAs & require insurance companies (except MC/BCBS) to reimburse them. The amount of reimbursement depends on where you live. I've done a bit of research on this because I'm going to take the program again. You can take it in another state, you just have to have a license in the state you plan to get your hours in. Go to http://www.cc-institute.org/cert_crnf_prep_rnfa.aspx & it will list all the programs in the US. Good luck.