NCLEX Test Review Websites and Test Taking Tips

Nursing Students NCLEX

Published

just wondering if any of you guys know a website that have a test review question.

Specializes in Gerontological, cardiac, med-surg, peds.
Cay said:
I am in my first semester of FON and really struggling as several of my class mates are too. We were "A:" students before nursing and realized how difficult our classes would be in addition to dedicating ourselves five straight semesters to nursing school. We study hard, answer all our study guide questions, definitions, fill out our work book.............Where do these questions come from? They are not what we studied! If this is critical thinking we need help as I, we, need more help that we can get at school. I am open to replies of just what to study from and how to go about it. We are not fresh out of high school, but seasoned adults. HELP!!!

Thanks,

Cay

Something that may help is Bloom's Taxonomy - This is the guide to gauging critical thinking in the cognitive domain.

The cognitive domain, according to Bloom, is divided into 6 levels of difficulty: knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation. Most students (outside of nursing) are used to multiple choice questions written on the knowledge level, which is "simple" memorization of facts, or at the level of comprehension, which advances one step further toward understanding. The instructor lectures the material, and the student simply "regurgitates" it back on a test.

Critical thinking, according to Bloom, is only accessed on the "higher" levels of application and above. To encourage critical thinking, therefore, the majority of the questions you will encounter in nursing school will be at the level of application and analysis. Also, the majority of the questions on the NCLEX-RN are written at the level of application and analysis. Very few NCLEX questions are "mere" knowledge questions.